Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Cookies

My family, thankfully, does not have any food allergies.  I have however, been playing around with gluten-free recipes lately.  A friend of mine has a daughter who is gluten intolerant and I occasionally bake goodies for her.  In return she does my hair, and I’m pretty sure I am getting the better end of the deal.  Last week I made my first attempt at gluten free bread and it was an utter failure.  So today I made something with chocolate in it instead.  My belief is that no matter how bad something is chocolate will make it bearable (that goes for life as well as food).  Well, these cookies were much better than bearable.  I’d even go as far as to say they were amazing.  I didn’t bother to tell my husband that they were gluten-free until after he told me that they were great.  His response was that he had no idea what gluten was but the cookies definitely didn’t need it.  I won’t be giving up bread anytime soon, but these cookies are a keeper.

Ingredients

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

1 Tbls milk

1 cup butter

1 2/3 cup rice flour

1 1/3 old fashioned oats

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1 cup semi-sweet or dark chocolate chips

Directions

Cream together sugars, butter, vanilla, and milk

mix in dry ingredients

Fold in chocolate chips by hand

Press dough between the palms of you hands to form cookie shape (makes about 2 dozen cookies).

Bake @ 350 for 10 – 12 minutes

Allow to cool completely before removing from pan.  These cookies are not for the impatient.  If you don’t wait for them to cool completely they will fall apart.

Leave a comment

Filed under Baking, Gluten Free

Leave a Reply

