Banana Apple Flax Muffins

My two year old is obsessed with cake.  Yesterday all day long he asked me for cake.   This morning before he got up, I decided to make him “cake”.  The muffins were nearly finished when he came into the kitchen, so I turned on the oven light for him to see.  “My cakes, my cakes”, he shouted.  I couldn’t help but laugh, if only he knew his favorite “cake” was a healthy, nutrition packed muffin.

This recipe calls for ground flax seed.  Flax seed is packed with good for you omega 3’s, fiber, and lignans so I bake with it frequently.  The best way to use flax is to grind it fresh in a coffee grinder.  All grains begin to lose nutrients within hours of grinding, so grinding your own is always the best option.  However, I also buy cold milled golden flax seed meal because let face it sometimes I’m just too lazy to bother grinding grains in the morning.  The other great thing about flax is that it makes a great substitute for eggs or oil when baking.  Flax seed has saved the day many times at my house when halfway through measuring my ingredients for chocolate chip cookies I realize I’m out of eggs.  Here are some handy substitutions:

1 egg = 1 Tbls flax + 3 Tbls water

1 Tbls butter or oil = 3 Tbls flax

Banana Apple Flax Muffins

Ingredients

1 ½ cups whole wheat flour

¾ cup ground flax seed

½ cup agave nectar

1 tsp baking soda

1 egg

½ cup applesauce

2 ripe mashed bananas

1 teaspoon vanilla

2 Tbsp plain yogurt

¼ cup chopped pecans

¼ cup raw sugar

Directions

In a large mixing bowl, mix together flour, flax seed, and baking soda.

In a separate bowl, mix egg, agave nectar, applesauce, bananas, vanilla, and yogurt.

Stir wet ingredients into dry ingredients.

Spray the muffin pan with non-stick spray or line with paper muffin cups.  Fill cups.  Sprinkle with pecans and sugar if desired.

Bake 25-30 minutes @ 325° (if you chose to substitute the agave nectar for sugar, you can bake at 350° for 20-30 minutes)

Enjoy your cake for breakfast!  Makes 12 muffins.

Leave a comment

Filed under Baking

Leave a Reply

